CCU Costs / Fees, Refunds, and Withdrawal Polices
Tuition at California Coast University is based on a cost per unit of credit. Textbooks are not included in tuition fees.
|Undergraduate Courses||$170 per unit|
|Graduate Courses||$250 per unit|
|Doctoral Degree Courses||$320 per unit|
Estimated Program Requirements:
|Certificate Programs||12 unit*|
|Associate Degrees||60 unit*|
|Bachelor Degrees||126 unit*|
|Certificate Programs||12 unit*|
|Master Degrees||39 unit*|
|Doctoral Degrees||66 unit*|
Estimated Total Tuition Charges:
|Undergraduate Certificate||$2,040 (12 units)*|
|Associate Degrees||$10,200 (60 units)*|
|Bachelor Degrees||$21,420 (126 units)*|
|Graduate Certificates||$ 3,000 (12 units)*|
|Master's Degrees||$ 9,750 (39 units)*|
|Doctoral Degrees||$21,120 (66 units)*|
*Approximate required units and tuition charges do not include credit for prior learning and/or transfer credit. Doctoral and some master's degrees may require additional prerequisite courses.
California Coast University does not participate in federal or state financial aid programs.
A student may not be awarded the degree, until all unpaid financial accounts, current or delinquent, have been satisfied. This includes tuition and all library fees. The degree will be retained and not released by the University until such obligations are satisfied.
Military Tuition Rates
Active Duty Service Members, Reservists, and Veterans enjoy a special tuition discount of 10%. The CCU Military Discount Program is not to be used or applied in conjunction with any other offer, discount, or promotion. Discount only valid for enrollments after January 2023, and is subject to proof of eligibility at the time of application.
All government employees get a special tuition discount of 10%. The Government Discount Program is not to be used or applied in conjunction with any other offer, discount, or promotion. Discount only valid for enrollments after January 2023, and is subject to proof of eligibility at the time of application.
Law Enforcement Employees
All law enforcement employees get a special tuition discount of 10%. The Law Enforcement Discount Program is not to be used or applied in conjunction with any other offer, discount, or promotion. Discount only valid for enrollments after January 2023 , and is subject to proof of eligibility at the time of application.
All firefighters and employees get a special tuition discount of 10%. The Firefighter Discount Program is not to be used or applied in conjunction with any other offer, discount, or promotion. Discount only valid for enrollments after January 2023, and is subject to proof of eligibility at the time of application.
Students who have previously received a degree from CCU will receive a 10% tuition discount on a future program. The Graduate Discount Program cannot be used in conjunction with any other offer, discount, or promotion.
Corporate Partner Employees
All corporate partner employees get a special tuition discount of 10%. Click here to learn how to become a Corporate Partner. To view a full list of our Corporate Partner Organizations visit the Corporate Partner List Page. The Corporate Partner Program is not to be used or applied in conjunction with any other offer, discount, or promotion. Discount only valid for enrollments after the date contract is signed and is subject to proof of eligibility at the time of application. Offer is not retroactive for students already enrolled.
Additional and Optional Non-Refundable Fees
The following fees and charges are costs that students may incur beyond the basic tuition fees for specific programs. These costs are NON-REFUNDABLE.
|Registration / Application Fee||$75|
|Textbook Rental||$35 Per Book|
|Textbook Security Deposit||$50|
|Voluntary Courses||Course Tuition Cost|
Click on fee to jump to the detailed explanation.
Additional Fees and Charges Explained (Non-Refundable)
Registration Fee: Enrolled students wishing to withdraw from an educational program have a right to a pro-rata refund of all monies paid to the University, less the $75 registration fee, if the student has completed at least one lesson assignment in a course. However, newly registering students have the right to request a refund of all monies paid, less a Registration Fee of $75 within 7 days after initial coursework has been sent to the student.
Textbooks: Students have the option of acquiring the textbook on their own or renting from the University’s Library for a fee of $35 per book for 120 days and a refundable security deposit of $50 per book. Students outside the contiguous U.S. will be charged postage for shipping. The security deposit is refundable upon successful completion of all coursework or upon request to withdraw from the University provided that the textbooks have been returned on time and in good condition. Textbook costs vary depending on whether students rent the textbook, purchase them new, or purchase them used. As an example, for a program with 10 courses the cost of textbooks will be approximately $350, plus return shipping, if the student uses the University’s rental library.
Phone Calls: The University does not accept collect calls, nor can toll-free calls to the Admissions Office be transferred to other offices of the University.
Library Fees and Research Costs: Each student is responsible for any costs incurred related to the research portion of the program including: obtaining access to local or college libraries or outside databases, or any costs for mentors/specialists/editors, etc.
Bindery Charges: Students must have a copy of their approved thesis or dissertation hardbound according to the specifications in the University’s Guidelines for Writing the Thesis or Dissertation. Students may utilize a bindery of their choice in their local area.
Re-Evaluation Fee: A student has 45 days from their enrollment date to submit any additional items for evaluation, such as transcripts, CLEP, AP, or DSST scores or documentation of specialized training in an attempt to earn course credit. However, after the 45 day grace period, any additional items submitted for evaluation will be charged a $75 re-evaluation fee and any credit transferred will be awarded if applicable, but course fees are still charged.
Repeat Examinations: Students have the option of repeating the Unit Exams to achieve a better grade. Each Unit Exam within a course may only be repeated once. For each course, students can repeat one Unit Exam free of charge. The cost for each additional, repeated exam will be $90. Payment must be paid in full to the Finance Department before exams are released. Requests to retake a Unit Exam will only be honored if the Final Exam has not been sent. If a student should receive an overall course grade of “F,” “D” or “F” for graduate or doctoral courses, then the student must pay the current cost of tuition to repeat the course to receive a passing grade.
Reinstatement Fee: If a student is placed on hold from his/her program because of failure to meet financial or academic requirements, and wishes to be reinstated to an active status, he/she will be assessed a $75 non-refundable reinstatement fee. In addition, the student will only be reinstated into a program that is currently offered plus any tuition increases that have occurred since the original enrollment tuition.
Program Changes: After a student is officially enrolled, a $250 fee is assessed to execute any requested changes to the original educational program. Tuition increases may also be assessed if applicable.
Voluntary Courses: Current tuition will be assessed for each course a student voluntarily elects to complete that is not required in a student’s academic plan. All voluntary courses must be approved first by the Director of Academic Affairs.
Transcript Fees: A complimentary copy of an official transcript is provided to each graduate with his or her diploma or certificate. There is a $10 fee for each additional copy. All requests for transcripts must be submitted in writing, signed by the student or graduate, to the Registrar of the University. The Registrar’s Office has the right to decline sending a transcript if the student has not met academic standards.
Late Fees: Late fees will be assessed on all unpaid or late payments.
Returned Payment Fees: A $15 fee will be assessed for any check, electronic funds transfer or credit card returned for non-payment.
Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF): Click here to read the complete policy.
Services Not Provided By The University
The University does not participate in federal or state financial aid programs. If the student has received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the monies not paid from federal student financial aid program funds. If a student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the responsibility to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund.
The University does not provide job placement services, transportation, supplies and materials. There are additional equipment costs, shop or studio fees, or any other costs not described in the University’s Tuition Schedule.
This institution does not have dormitory or housing facilities under its control. Rents in the zip code 92701 (California Coast University’s zip code) range from $850 - $3,150 per month. This information was located through the Renter’s Guide on www.zillow.com, the online real estate resource.
The University does not provide, pay for, or reimburse students for the acquisition of, or use of, any electronic tools and/or services such as, but not limited to, computers, access to online database services, or database consultants fees and/or services.
Withdrawal, Termination and Reinstatement
Student's Right to Cancel: Student has the right to cancel the enrollment agreement and btain a refunnd of charges paid through attendance at the first class session., or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later. The Institution shall refund 100% of the amount paid for institutional charges, less the nonrefundable $75 application fee, if notice of cancellation is made through the seventh day after enrollment. Notice of cancellation shall be in writing. Cancellation occurs when written notice is sent to California Coast University at [email protected] or 925 N. Spurgeon Street, Santa Ana, California 92701. This notification need not take any particular form; it needs only to state the student wishes to cancel this Agreement. The effective date of cancellation will be the date the request is received by the Institution. A withdrawal may be effectuated by the student's written notice or by the student's conduct, including, but not limited to, a student's lack of attendance. The University does not refund tuition for completed courses.
The institution shall refund unearned tuition charges if the student withdraws after seven days of enrollment, during a period of attendance. Students who have completed 60% or less of a course may be entitled to a pro rata refund based on the schedule below. All amounts paid by the student in excess of what is owed shall be refunded within 30 days of receiving the cancellation request. Students who have completed 61% or more of a course, are not entitled to a refund for the course.
When a student cancels after completing 60% or less of a course and has overpaid the tuition amount due, the institution may retain the initial nonrefundable $75 application fee and a percentage of tuition in accordance with the following schedule:
|Percentage completed by the student||Percentage of refundable tuition to the student||Percentage of tuition retained by the institution|
|Up to 20% (up to 1 unit)||80%||20%|
|21% - 40% (2 units)||60%||40%|
|41% - 60% (3 units)||40%||60%|
|61% - 100% (over 3 units)||0%||100%|
The amount of the course completed shall be the ratio of submitted assignments to the total assignments required for the course. Students may receive a pro rata refund for a course up to 9 months after course materials have been provided. After 9 months from the course sent date the student will owe the full cost of each course provided. If tuition has not been paid, then the University may continue to collete tuition for submitted/provided assignments until paid in full.
Sample refund calculation (based on undergraduate tuition rate and partial courses completed within 9 months of being provided to the student)
Tuition cost per course: $510.00
Number of courses 100% completed: 2
Total cost of 100% completed courses: $1,020.00 Student has 2 partially completed courses:
40% (2 units completed) of BAM105 = $204.00 tuition owed
80% (4 units completed) of BAM450 = $510.00 tuition owed
Total cost of partially completed courses: $714.00
Total cost of all instruction provided: $1,734.00 ($1,020.00 + $204.00 + $510.00) Non-refundable application fee: $75.00
Total student payments to date: $3,200.00
Total refund due: $1,391.00 ($3,200.00 - $75.00 - $1,734.00 = $1,391.00)
Although California Coast University does not participate in federal financial aid programs, California regulations require students be notified that if a student has received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of monies not paid from federal student financial aid program funds.
Refunds will be processed within 30 days upon receipt of written request.
Students residing in the state of Iowa who withdraw within the first two calendar weeks of enrollment will receive a refund of all tuition charges. A student who terminates after the first two calendar weeks of enrollment may be eligible for a pro rata refund. This refund will be an amount that is not less than ninety-five percent of the amount of tuition charged to the student multiplied by the amount of the coursework remaining in the program. If a student has completed 60% or more of a program, no refund will be given. All amounts paid by the student in excess of what is owed shall be refunded within 30 days of receiving the cancellation request.
If, at anytime, a student terminates a postsecondary educational program after the first two calendar weeks due to the student's physical incapacity or, for a program that requires classroom instruction, due to the transfer of the student's spouse's employment to another city, the terminating student shall receive a refund of the tuition charges in an amount that equals the amount of tuition charged to the student multiplied by the ratio of the remaining calendar days in the school period to the total number of calendar days in the school period.
Sample refund calculation for students residing in Iowa (based on current tuition rate for a Bachelor degree program)
Percentage of program completed: 42.9% (54 semester units out of 126 semester units)
Total payments student has made: $21,420.00
126 (# of semester units in school period) - 54 (# of semester units the student completes in the school period)
= 72 (# of semester units the student failed to complete in the school period)
72 (# of semester units the student failed to complete in the school period) / 126 (# of semester units in school period)
= 0.571 (% of the school period the student failed to complete)
0.571 (% of the school period the student failed to complete) x $21,420.00 (tuition charges for the school period)
= $12,240.00 (amount of refund prior to school's administrative charges)
$12,240.00 (amount of refund prior to school's administrative charges)
x 0.95 (Iowa law allows the school to retain 5% in administrative charges)
= $11,628.00 (minimum tuition charge refund/reduction owed to the student)
Student residing in the State of Maryland: The minimum refund that an institution shall pay to a Maryland student who withdraws or is terminated after completing only a portion of a course, program, or term within the applicable billing period is as follows:
|Proportion of Total Course, Program, or Term Completed as of Date of Withdrawal or Termination||Tuition Refund|
|Less than 10%||90% Refund|
|10% up to but not including 20%||80% Refund|
|20% up to but not including 30%||60% Refund|
|30% up to but not including 40%||40% Refund|
|40% up to but not including 60%||20% Refund|
|20% refund More than 60%||No Refund|
A refund due to a Maryland student shall be based on the date of withdrawal or termination and paid within 30 days from the date of withdrawal or termination.
Students residing in the state of Oregon who cancel after completing 60% or less of a course and have overpaid the tuition amount due, the institution may retain the initial nonrefundable $75 application fee and a percentage of tuition in accordance with the following schedule:
|Percentage completed by the student||Percentage of refundable tuition to the student||Percentage of tuition retained by the institution|
|Up to 20% (up to 1 unit)||80%||20%|
|21% - 40% (2 units)||60%||40%|
|41% - 60% (3 units)||50%||50%|
|61% - 100% (over 3 units)||0%||100%|
Students residing in the state of Wisconsin: Students residing in the state of Wisconsin will receive a full refund of all money paid if student:
- Cancels within the three-business-day cancellation period under SPS406.03;
- Accepted was unqualified and the school did not secure a disclaimer under SPS 409.04;
- Enrollment was procured as the result of any misrepresentation in the written materials used by the school or in oral representation made by or on behalf of the school.
Refunds will be made within 10 days of cancellation.
A student who withdraws or is dismissed after attending at least one class, but before completing 60% of the instructions in the current enrollment period, is entitled to a pro rata refund as follows:
|At Least||But Less Than||Refund of Tuition|
|1 unit / class||10%||90%|
As part of this policy, the school may retain a one-time application fee of no more than $100. The school will make every effort to refund prepaid amounts for books, supplies and other charges. A student will receive the refund within 40 days of termination date. If a student withdraws after completing 60% of the instruction, and withdrawal is due to mitigating circumstances beyond the student's control, the school may refund a pro rata amount. A written notice of withdrawal is not required.
Termination Of Enrollment
Students are expected to conduct themselves in a mature, professional, and ethical manner. Students may be terminated or disqualified from their program of study for any of the following reasons:
- Deceit, fraudulence, cheating, unethical or disruptive behavior, forgery or vandalism.
- Falsification of records, transcripts, or coursework documents submitted for review or credit.
- Plagiarism of other’s work.
- Failure to demonstrate reasonable and successful academic progress. Students completing coursework must complete a minimum of one course every six months for a minimum of two courses per year. Students completing a thesis or dissertation must submit evidence of progress in writing at least once a year. A waiver may be requested by writing to the Director of Academic Affairs stating the reason for the request and the specific time when progress will resume.
- Failure to submit work according to the standards specified in the manuals and instructions provided by the University.
- Failure to maintain the tuition payment agreement.
Request For Reinstatement
Students must maintain an active status in their program(s), as noted in the previous section. This includes maintaining good standing both academically and financially. If a student is placed on hold from his/her program for failure to meet financial or academic requirements, the student record will be placed on an academic or financial hold.Students can remain on academic or financial hold for a period of up to one year.During this time, students may be contacted by the University in an attempt to reinstate and get them back on good standing and on track to graduation. If a student wishes to reinstate within the one year timeframe, he/she will need to fill out an application to reinstate.The application must be submitted to the University along with a $75 non-refundable fee.Once received, the Director of Academic Affairs will prepare a new academic plan and a revised contract will be mailed to the student.The contract may include any tuition increases that may have occurred since the student’s original enrollment. Students will be required to meet the current academic requirements and standards established by the University. Any previously completed coursework may be transferred into the current program, when possible and applicable.
The University encourages students to contact staff and faculty directly with questions or concerns in regard to their program and/or course materials. The University is committed to resolving any complaints that may arise during the educational program completion process. It is the policy of the University to address student complaints in an objective and timely fashion. It is also the policy of the University to resolve all student concerns and complaints at the department level whenever possible.
All student complaints that cannot be resolved at the department level are classified into the general categories of academic issues, student service issues, or administrative issues, and an internal investigation is initiated. If the Chief Academic Officer deems it appropriate, a meeting of the Grievance Committee may be held to discuss alternatives and to suggest a course of action. When a decision has been reached, the Chief Academic Officer communicates, in writing, to the student and retains material related to the complaint in a student complaint file.
Students have the right to appeal decisions made by the Academic Department and Student Services Department. To appeal a decision, students must file a formal grievance petition in the form of a letter addressed to the Chief Academic Officer who will review and research all facets of the student’s concern, coordinate all review meetings, and provide the student with a report of the findings of the Grievance Committee.
Students who feel the University is not complying with accreditation standards may contact:
Distance Education Accrediting Commission
1101 17th Street NW, Suite 808, Washington, D.C. 20036
Students will find additional information on filing a formal complaint on the DEAC website - www.deac.org.
Students may also contact the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education regarding any compliance concerns by calling (888) 370-7589 toll-free or by completing a complaint form which can be found at www.bppe.ca.gov.
Any dispute concerning any matter under a student Enrollment Agreement and any courses and services provided by California Coast University shall be governed by California law and any proceedings, judicial or arbitration, shall take place in the County of Orange, State of California.
Students residing in the state of Connecticut should direct complaints to:
Office of Higher Education
450 Columbus Boulevard, Suite 707
Hartford, CT 06103
Students residing in the state of Georgia:
Have the right to appeal final institutional decisions to the GNPEC.
Please contact the Georgia Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission at (770) 414-3300
Students residing in the state of Kansas should direct complaints to:
Kansas Board of Regents
1000 SW Jackson, Suite 520
Topeka, KS 66612-1368
Phone Number: 785-430-4240
Students residing in the state of Maryland should direct complaints to:Maryland Attorney General Consumer Protection Division
200 St. Paul Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
410-528-8662/888-743-0823 (toll free)
The University is registered as an out of state institution offering fully online programs to Maryland students and is subject to investigation of complaints by the Office of the Attorney General or the Maryland Higher Education Commission.
New Mexico students have the right to contact NMHED if their complaint cannot be resolved within the institution:
New Mexico Higher Education Department
2044 Galisteo Street, Suite 4
Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number: 505-476-8400
Students residing in the state of Oregon:
Students should attempt to resolve any grievances they may have with their school first. Should attempts to resolve these problems with appropriate school officials fail, or should the student be dissatisfied with the final outcome of the college complaint process, then the Higher Education Coordinating Commission (HECC), can respond to a formal complaint. Students may contact the Higher Education Coordinating Commission, 3225 25th St. SE, Salem, OR 97302 or by sending an email to [email protected]. Students may also access our Complaints web page at https://www.oregon.gov/highered/about/Pages/complaints.aspx.
Students residing in the state of Virginia should direct complaints to:
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia
Private Postsecondary Education
101 North 14th Street, 9th Floor
James Monroe Building
Richmond, VA 23219-3659
Phone Number: 804-225-2600
Students residing in the state of Wisconsin should direct complaints to:
Educational Approval Program - Department
of Safety and Professional Services
4822 Madison Yards Way Madison, WI 53705
Phone: (608) 266-1966, press 5 for EAP
Email: [email protected]
Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF)
The Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) was established by the California State Legislature to protect any California resident who attends a private postsecondary institution from suffering a loss of prepaid tuition as a result of a school closing, failing to live up to its enrollment agreement, or refusing to pay a court judgment.
You must pay the state-imposed assessment for the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) if all of the following applies to you:
- You are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all of part of your tuition either by cash, guaranteed student loans, or personal loans, and;
- Your total charges are not paid by any third-party payer such as an employer, government program or other payer unless you have a separate agreement to repay the third party.
You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment if either of the following applies:
- You are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program, or
- Your total charges are paid by a third party, such as an employer, government program or other payer, and you have no separate agreement to repay the third party.
The State of California created the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic losses suffered by students in educational programs who are California residents, or are enrolled in a residency program attending certain schools regulated by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education.
You may be eligible for STRF if you are a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program, prepaid tuition, paid STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following:
- The school closed before the course of instruction was completed.
- The school’s failure to pay refunds or charges on behalf of a student to a third party for license fees or any other purpose, or to provide equipment or materials for which a charge was collected within 180 days before the closure of the school.
- The school’s failure to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federally guaranteed student loan program as required by law or to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the school prior to closure in excess of tuition and other costs.
- There was a material failure to comply with the Act or the Division within 30-days before the school closed or, if the material failure began earlier than 30-days prior to closure, the period determined by the Bureau.
- An inability after diligent efforts to prosecute, prove, and collect on a judgment against the institution for a violation of the Act.”
However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer identification number.
- Students should retain copies of enrollment agreements, receipts, financial aid documents or any other information that documents monies paid to an institution.
- Questions regarding STRF may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 1625 North Market Boulevard Suite S202, Sacramento, CA 95834
Right To Change
In an effort to provide the most current and up to date instructional materials, the University retains the right to change course materials, titles, tuition, and textbook charges at any time without notice.